Simon Fraser University

Graduate Programs

The SFU Department of Physics was established in 1967 by faculty whose research interests were primarily in the field of condensed matter physics with emphasis on magnetic, superconducting, and semiconducting materials. With the expansion of the department to the current twenty-five research professors, these interests have broadened into the fields of soft condensed matter and biophysics, nanophysics, high-energy physics, atomic physics, and most recently cosmology. The research environment is one of remarkable friendliness with collaboration and sharing of resources the norm between faculty members.

Typical of most Canadian universities, students with a bachelor level degree interested in research leading to a doctoral degree are admitted first into the Master’s degree program.  The Master’s degree program involves graduate level course work and research leading to a Master’s thesis. With the support of the student’s thesis committee, a student in the Master’s degree program can transfer directly into the Ph.D. program after one year at SFU. Those students who apply with a higher-level degree may be admitted directly into the Ph.D. program.

Financial support when necessary is guaranteed for all graduate students accepted into the program. Tuition and fees are the responsibility of the student but are covered adequately by this financial support. International students are charged the same tuition and fees as are domestic students.

Further information about the department, about the research programs of individual professors, and about how to apply are found on our website. Please do not hesitate to contact one of us with any questions you may have.